Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Area Profile

Home
Area Profile
The Population
Features/Resources
Economic Sector
Social Services
Environment
Land Use
Infrastructure
News/Updates
Conventions
City Hall Directory
Ordinances

 

 

 

 

Prior to Baguio's early development, it  was a place of pasture and grazing land first inhabited by mountain tribes Igorotes called Ibalois and Kankanais.

Although, little can be said of prehispanic Baguio, it must be noted that the Igorotes had developed their own set of customs and beliefs, and a common, systematic trade system called barter before the westerners arrived.

Because of Benguet potentials for gold source, the Spanish government through Commandante Galvey established  the Commandancias Politico Militar to rule the natives. Benguet was then divided into 31  rancherias. Baguio was then one  of the rancherias composed of 21 scattered houses.

Don Q..M. Quirante was assigned by Galvey to explore Benguet's gold mines. As a result, mining activities started in Antamok, Itogon and Suyoc areas. The introduction of Christianity and new techniques in coffee and cattle raising is credited to the Spaniards.

Before the close of 1800's, Antonio Bejar (Juan Carino) was made the first Governor of Benguet. However, his reign did not last long when in the early 1900's, the Americans came.

Shortly after the defeat of the Spanish Navy in the battle of Manila Bay, Captain Rudd came to Baguio to set up the first civil government ever established in the Philippines under the governorship of H.P. Whitmarsh. From a military, a township form of government was adopted in November 1900 by virtue of Act No. 48 and Act No. 1397. In escaping the lowland heat, the Americans found Baguio a perfect place to rest and recuperate with a climate similar with that of the  United States.

In 1904, President Theodore Roosevelt appointed Cameron Forbes to develop Baguio. Architect Daniel H. Burnham made a plan for an expected population of 25,000 people. This followed the Philippine Commission's declaration to make the town of Baguio in the Province of Benguet, as the "summer capital of the archipelago". Gov. Forbes also encouraged the development of Baguio as an Administrative Center. Reservations were given to various national government offices. This was followed by the building of the Kennon and Naguilian Roads. In 1906, William Haube build Session Road, so named because members of the Commission passed through it on their way to the session hall.

On September 1, 1909, the Charter of City of Baguio authored by Gov. George A. Malcolm was promulgated pursuant to Act. No. 1963. Mining went on high gear production. American prospectors came and worked in the mines until full operations were reached. As Baguio was fast gaining grounds as a commercial center, the public market was opened. Various commercial enterprises were established along Session Road, Harrison Road and Trinidad Road (now Magsaysay Road.

From 1909 to 1957, the mayors of the city were all appointed. Americans were appointed mayors from 1909 to 1937, subsequently, a Filipino Engineer took over the reigns of government. Baguio had its first local elections in 1957. the mayor-council government set-up became elective since then.

 

Send mail to juquiana-dba-cpa@skyinet.net with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2000 City Of Baguio
Last modified: November 01, 2000